Speakers and Topics
Coming Soon

2021 SCAAP 



April 8

May 11

Time: 12:30pm-1:30PM

Stay Posted for Speaker/Topics

Please contact Tracy Beam, Director of Professional Development, if you are interested in speaking or have a speaker/topic recommendation


SCAAP President’s Message

Winter 2021




Dear SCAAP members;


We still want to stay in contact with you even though we are in some challenging times.  We hope you had a great NAP week and are still using all your free resources that were emailed to you. The SCAAP Board is still meeting virtually and making exciting plans.  Our Fall Virtual Symposium was a huge success. Thanks to Pat Griffith and Laurie and Kregg Kjar for presenting some very engaging topics. We have decided to schedule some more virtual trainings. "Lunch and Learn". They will be 1 hour webinars held once a month at 12:30pm-1:30pm. We are working on scheduling some great speakers now. Congratulations to Karla Romero, Director of Membership and Cecilie Sharp, Secretary who have been appointed to our SCAAP Board. 

Here are some updates for our Members;

  • Starting on March 9th we will providing monthly "Lunch and Learn" Webinars. They will be FREE to the members and $60 for non-members but will include membership.

  • Future "Lunch and Learn" Dates. April 8th, May 11th

  • Annual SCAAP Board Member reports are done. They will be emailed to the members soon.

  • Please check out our new "Resource" Tab. We have added some great new resoruces.

  • Everyone is welcome to join us at any of our Board meetings. They are held monthly at various locations or via conference calls. The board is flexible and willing to train and mentor anyone that is interested. 


Laurie Kjar-Reiss, CTRS

SCAAP President



Thanks to Loren, AD , At West Anaheim Extended Care

Click on document links to get program details and ideas

 About Southern California Association of Activity Professionals

The Scoop About Us


The Southern California Association Of Activity Professionals (SCAAP) is committed to providing excellence in support services to activity professionals as a means of continually enhancing the quality of life for all populations we serve.


Education • Industry relations • Information exchange • Peer association • Peer recognition • Professional advocacy • Professional ethics • Representation • Resource availability • Self-improvement assistance • Service opportunities • Standards of practice • Therapeutic values


Our Story

Two official associations represent Activity Professionals in the state of California. The Southern California Association of Activity Professionals (SCAAP) covers the 10 Southern California counties including San Luis Obispo. The Northern California Council of Activity Coordinators (NCCAC) covers the counties north of San Luis Obispo.
SCAAP began early in 1980 when several Southern California Activity Professionals met to organize.

The first official membership election and convention were held in June of 1981, under the name of Southern California Council of Activity Coordinators (SCCAC).  Membership has grown steadily since conception.

In March 1994 the name was changed to the Southern California Association of Activity Professionals (SCAAP) to reflect the diversity of the growing profession.

Many local activity associations and Activity Professionals from surrounding states provide support and resources to SCAAP. With their ongoing assistance, the Association serves many Activity Professionals each year.


Officers & Chair Persons

Laurie Kjar-Reiss, President

Donna Glenn, Past President, By-Laws Chair


Joan Flannigan , Vice President

Tracy Beam, Director of Professional Development

Kregg Kjar, Director of Social Media & Webmaster

Minnie Groel, Director of Public Relations

Cecilie Sharp , Secretary

Loren Apodaca, Treasurer


Karla Romero, Director of Membership

Melissa Betancourt, Director of Resources

Kerry Whelan, Immediate Past President

Open, Awards Chair

For Board Contact Information Email: Laurie Kjar-Reiss-SCAAP President


©2017 by Southern California Association of Activity Professionals. Proudly created with Wix.com